skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:

Revocation of Prohibited Fire Season

restricted fire season

The public is advised that pursuant to Section 22(2) of the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977 the Wairoa District Council as a Fire Authority, hereby REVOKES the PROHIBITED FIRE SEASON imposed on Wairoa Rural Fire District and declares a RESTRICTED FIRE SEASON except for the Māhia, Opoutama, Māhanga, Nūhaka & Mōrere areas (to the district’s northern boundary on State Highway 2), and all beaches in the district which will remain in a PROHIBITED FIRE SEASON effective 0600, Wednesday, March 8, 2017. No person shall light a fire in the open air, including incinerators, without having first obtained a written fire permit from the Wairoa District Council. A permit to burn does not exempt the holder from responsibility for any damage caused by a permitted fire getting out of control. Allow three working days to process permits.

The above restrictions and prohibitions will remain in force until revoked by Council.
All enquiries Telephone: 06 838 7309

Donald Scott

31 October 2018

Back to Archive


Wairoa District Council - Copyright © 2024 Wairoa District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Wairoa District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Wairoa District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Wairoa District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Wairoa District Council - / +64 6 838 7309 /