skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:

Council connecting with rangatahi

youth council

An intergenerational perspective on Council issues will be launched next Monday at the inaugural Wairoa Youth Council meeting.

The Youth Council has been created by the Wairoa District Council to provide an independent youth voice to support the decision-making process at Local Government level.

The group comprises of nominated representatives from throughout the district who were selected by a Council panel. Last week the group attended an induction workshop to prepare the members for their roles.

Wairoa Mayor Craig Little described the Youth Council as a fresh approach for Wairoa which will provide Council with the opportunity to hear rangatahi thoughts on the impacts of Council’s decisions on their generation and as the future ratepayers of Wairoa.

“This brings Wairoa in line with what other Council’s around the country are trying to achieve. Today’s youth are tomorrow’s future, and we need to make sure we have provided clear channels to allow our rangatahi to express their views.

“This initiative is an innovative way to engage and connect with our young people and ensure Council’s decisions plan ahead for future generations.”

A key role of the group will be to assist Council with its planning processes and projects, with a focus on the provision of services and facilities that have a potential impact on young people. It will also be a vehicle for identifying local youth needs and resources and develop youth leadership skills through experience of representation processes, local government and civic activities.

Members will be appointed for a three-year term in-line with local government elections timeframes with the first of the six weekly meetings scheduled for next Monday.

Caption: Wairoa’s newly appointed Youth Council will hold its first meeting next Monday. Pictured is Mayor Craig Little (left) and Wairoa District Councillor Melissa Kaimoana (right) with the Youth Council representatives, Te Huiariki Tuahine, Jose Manuel, Rongomaiwahine Te Rau o Patuwai, Aries-Clay King, Ruby Mildon, Teancum Scotson, Jacquin Kawana, Daniel Cheiban, Trevor Waikawa, Te Hira Horua and Gabrielle Wilson.

16 February 2021

Back to Archive


Wairoa District Council - Copyright © 2024 Wairoa District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Wairoa District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Wairoa District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Wairoa District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Wairoa District Council - / +64 6 838 7309 /