PUBLIC NOTICE

DECLARATION OF RESULTS for Wairoa District Council Local Body Elections 2022

Notice is given of the official results of the elections held on 8 October 2022 for Mayor and Councillors (General Ward and Māori Ward) of the Wairoa District Council (as required by Section 86 of the Local Electoral Act 2001). I confirm the official result was determined after the scrutiny of the roll was completed, the validity of all special votes was determined, and all valid votes were counted.

MAYORALTY, AT LARGE (One (1) Mayor to be elected)

Candidate	Affiliation	Candidate Voting ID	Votes Received	Rank
CAIRNS, Benita		101	780	
LITTLE, Craig		102	1486	1
MUTONHORI, Simon		103	437	
OLSEN, Murray		104	168	
TAKUTA-MOSES, Jennifer		105	51	
INFORMAL		106	3	
BLANK		107	32	

I therefore declare Craig LITTLE to be elected.

GENERAL WARD (Three (3) Councillors to be elected)

Candidate	Affiliation	Candidate Voting ID	Votes Received	Rank
CULSHAW, Ngaire	Pahauwera Shearing Ltd	201	353	
EAGLESOME-KAREKARE, Denise		202	1143	1
FLOOD, Hine Beth		203	650	
HARKER, Jeremy	Independent	204	1115	2
OLSEN, Murray		205	329	
THOMAS, Roz		206	938	3
WINITANA, Waipatu		207	466	
INFORMAL		208	0	
BLANK		209	32	

I therefore declare Denise EAGLESOME-KAREKARE, Jeremy HARKER and Roz THOMAS to be elected.

MAORI WARD (Three (3) Councillors to be elected)

		Candidate	Votes	
Candidate	Affiliation	Voting ID	Received	Rank
CAIRNS, Benita		241	672	1
GOLDSACK, Danika		242	373	
KAIMOANA, Melissa		243	503	3
TAKUTA-MOSES, Jennifer		244	170	
TAYLOR, Wayne		245	196	
TUMATAROA-CLARKE, Chaans		246	577	2
INFORMAL		247	3	
BLANK		248	30	

I therefore declare Benita CAIRNS, Melissa KAIMOANA and Chaans TUMATAROA-CLARKE to be elected.

Dated at Wairoa this 14th day of October 2022.

Juanita Savage
ELECTORAL OFFICER
WAIROA DISTRICT COUNCIL

